One Pink Rose

Yesterday evening, as I walked down 72nd Street in the rain on my way to women’s group ( http://www.gracenyc.org ) the sky completely overcast, trash and recycling piled up on the curb, people were scowling and dragging their feet at the days hardships. I glanced to a pile of boxes, ready to be taken away and recycled, laying right there on top was a beautiful pink rose; it stopped me in my tracks because in the midst of all the darkness around me, there was something very beautiful. I looked around to see if maybe someone had just sat it there for a moment… there was no one around – all of the angry people had disappeared. I waited… picked it up, smiled, looked around again – the rain had stopped; I thought to myself, “Whose rose is this? Who is this for?” …out of nowhere, God told me, “Courtney, this rose is for you.  I want you to have it.” A warm sensation passed over my entire body. He continued, ” Thank you for having faith, for allowing me to remove the blindfold that has been upon your eyes for so long, for surrendering to me – thank you for listening to me and coming to women’s group tonight.”

Wow. I was speechless; the grin on my face stretched from ear to ear. I looked smitten, like I just got asked out by my dream guy… the truth is, I am smitten, enamored really. I am falling deeply in love with Jesus Christ. God is giving me signs from every direction. Signs that I have found Him, the man of my dreams, my prince charming. The only One that I can truly trust with 100% of my core, the only One that will never let me down. Have you ever looked for something, anxiety-ridden and frustrated because you can’t find it? Only to realize that it was right in front of you the whole time? Yeah, that’s the euphony I had. I feel like I have been looking for Him my whole life… waiting for my prince charming; feeling trapped up in that castle, where the walls started closing in on me… I was looking for him in all the wrong places.

I had a God-sized hole in my heart and I was trying to fill it with worldly things.

This new relationship with Him is fascinating, beyond my wildest dreams.

One thought on “One Pink Rose

  1. Wow Courtney! Awesome stuff! It is amazing to see God at work in your life. You are a gifted writer and was mesmerized by your blog. Thanks for your vulnerability and honesty. It’s so refreshing. My life verses are Philippians 3:10-11…”I want to know Christ, and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in His sufferings, becoming like Him in His death, and so, somehow, to obtain the resurrection from the dead.”

    I pray the same for you. That you know Him deeper and deeper…not just know “about Him.”

    God bless you Courtney. I have been/am praying for you.

    Pastor Charlie

Leave a Reply

