Jonathan Brett McLean 1986-2012

“I covet the time for which I get to listen to your soul breathe, to bottle and drink your tear drenched sighs, to tread with you to the cadence of waves lapping at your joy, to laugh with you as we pick the sand from our teeth from those waves, to let the waves rise in obedience, to erode the difference between us and Him.”  -Brett

God is Love. 1John4:8

“Love is the key.
Joy is love singing.
Peace is love resting.
Long-suffering is love enduring.
Kindness is love’s touch.
Goodness is love’s character.
Faithfulness is love’s habit.
Gentleness is love’s self-forgetfulness.
Self-control is love holding rein.”

Thank you for loving me, Brett… I have never experienced love like I did from you, from another human being on this planet. Your soul is like no other. Thank you for loving Jesus and for emulating the love that he has for us.

“The world has yet to see what God can do with and for and through and in and by the man who is fully and wholly consecrated to Him. I will try my utmost to be that man.” -D.L. Moody

…you were that man. I love you.

https://www.facebook.com/brett.mclean2

9 thoughts on “Jonathan Brett McLean 1986-2012

  1. John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”

    Love you, Court. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  2. hi Courtney…my life started changing Dec 2010..you were in it during the early changes..I have come to understand..” born-again” and “regeneration” and “sanctification”…and PROCESS. Now I am beginning a chapter I could of never!!!! dreamed of..in my worst nightmare. But now I go back to that word of sanctification and understand it as a process. And I am beginning to understand God’s love at a dimension…i didnt know or even understand fully was in the bible. I know it is His theme thru out scripture though…the theme of His love for me….and you! I Am sorry for ur pain..ur loss. But u will be okay…as u make Jesus in ur life what Brett made Him in His. Thank u for ur participation in shaping my son into The Son of The living God. I am sure you know how much I …covet… the above pictures. I would like to work with u to bring copies of those to our home. Chrissy does not know I am writing this to you,nor my proposed plan. But u can well amagine her mother’s heart when u see her eyes as she enfolds herself into those images of her ..little boy. I can not type anymore…..thank u for ur considerations…… a man who has one foot in great grief and one in eternal joy Scott

    • Scott,
      I cannot even begin to imagine, as parents what you two are going through. My heart just breaks for what breaks yours… I have suffered some very tragic losses in my life, of very dear and close members of my family (as you know) and this just adds to the sorrow in my heart… I loved Brett deeply, he was a remarkable man. One of a kind. Amazing. Thank you for having such a wonderful son, who loved me like nobody else ever has. He showed me so much of how God intended people to love one another. He was gracious, compassionate, and deep beyond explanation. He had a brilliant mind, a way with words, and a heart with an unreal ability to love. A love that Jesus enabled him to give. Consider the photos yours. I already have a CD packed for you guys… and will give it to you as soon as I see you.
      in HIS love and for HIS glory, Courtney

  3. I’m thinking about you everyday, little sister and I want you to know how much I love you. You have the soul on an angel and a heart of gold. And I am SO LUCKY to be your friend. I know you are going to have a good week. I know that you will be showered with love and support and open arms. You are beautiful.
    XOX
    A

  4. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. I hope you find the peace you need to endure this difficult time. He sounds like an amazing guy! I bet he left you with some amazing gifts, memories and the knowledge with to deal with this tragedy. Focus on those, focus on the ways he inspired you and your life. Make him proud by living that life, with those gifts and messages. I’m sorry you are dealing with this, take care.

Leave a Reply

